River Parks Geocaching, Again

This last week I made a trip to Tulsa River Parks again, so I could find some more of the caches that Extreme Mom had hidden.  Eventually I will find all of them.  I think I have two more left to find, maybe three.  I can’t remember.

So the first one, Ribbit: River Parks Trail East, was pretty easy.  The second one, Urban Art: River Parks Trail East, was a little harder.  The coordinates were off some.  I took a reading with my GPSr, and sent them to her.  She told me she needed to get out there for better coords, but hadn’t had the chance.

Modern Art

Tishomingo: River Parks Trail East was next.  This one took a little longer to find.  It was hidden pretty good.  That’s why I enjoy this River Parks series.  There are different terrain and difficulty ratings.  This was a 2.5 terrain.  I kind of had an idea of where it was, it was just finding the exact place.

Rockhopper: River Parks Trail East was the hardest of the day.  It took me 30 to 45 minutes to find.  I was getting flustered that I couldn’t find it.  I knew it had to be there, but there were soooo many places that it could have been.  I felt like a mountain goat, “rockhopping” all over the rocks.  If I must say, a pretty good mountain goat.  There were a couple of times I almost fell, but my cat like reflexes kept me upright.  After telling myself, this is the last pass over the rocks I’m going to make.  I looked in the right place.  Finally, there it was.  I signed the log, and hid it back for the next rockhopper to find it.  These are the rocks where it was hidden.

Rockhopper Too

I was planning on being done, but there was another one that I needed to find, that wasn’t to far from parking.  The last time I was going to look for it, 35th St. Break: River Parks Trail East, there was someone sitting on a bench real close to where it was hidden.  I wanted to get it.  It wasn’t to hard to find.  It was a fun afternoon.  Thanks Extreme Mom for hiding these.  I’ll be back to find the rest.

While walking to one of the caches, I can’t remember which one, a fire engine went by.  That’s not unusual, so I didn’t think that much about it.  As I drove down the road a little way, I noticed a bunch of fireman and police officers on one of the bridges, and on the banks of the Arkansas River.  I found out later, someone was fishing, and found a body in the river.  It’s always sad when this happens.

Anyway, I don’t want to end on a sad note, so here are more pictures from my day.

Trail Along Arkansas River

Two Baskets

Pink Fire Engine

Thanks for visiting, and as always, if you want to see more pictures of the day, here’s a link to My Flickr Page.

One thought on “River Parks Geocaching, Again”

  1. I got lucky on rockhopper and found it right away. I still have about three or four to find on the east side of the river and about four on the west including one I can see but I need a ladder to get. You probably know which one I’m talking about.

Leave a comment